Playboy and some clever Marge-ting

10 Oct

Marge

So Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize! I guess it makes up for Chicago him  not being awarded the Olympics?  I don’t think I’m alone in thinking that just maybe the whole Obama thing has gone too far now…

What I really want to talk about though is one of the better marketing ideas I’ve seen for a while. Today Playboy unleashed (I think that would be the best term) a new cover featuring none other than that stalwart of US matriarchs – Marge Simpson.

Now to be honest Marge never did it for me. Even in the episodes where she is vaguely nude. Nothing. Apparently though she is quite the sex symbol.  Meanwhile ‘heff’ also promises a cover featuring “Victoria’s Secret model Aline Puscau” who is just so so hot.

I think it’s quite telling that the CEO of Playboy is a Mr Scott Flanders. He apparently wants to “reach out to a younger audience.” Hmm well I’m pretty sure younger dudes are going to “reach out” for Aline before Marge.

But then that doesn’t matter in the slightest. What they’ve done here is get Playboy mentioned on pretty much every site I’ve been on today.  A magazine that no-one really cares about anymore, has falling circulation for obvious reasons and is struggling for identity has got everyone taking notice again.

Quality stuff.

Leave a Reply

